The Drummer: The Good, the Better, the Best: An Update

I’ve figured since it’s been so long I owe everyone an update on The Drummer. For those of you just tuning in, he’s my Online Dating Success Story. In just a few short weeks, it will mark a year since our first date. I honestly can’t believe it.

He was the final straw. The I have had it up to fucking HERE with online dating and if this one doesn’t work out then I just give the fuck up last straw.

I drove around for a solid hour before our date, smoking cigarettes and trying to stay positive.

Well, Lara, you’ve done your homework. You’ve seen just about everything there is to see on his Facebook without you actually having a Facebook. You’ve googled, binged, yahooed, and background checked the terms “The Drummer’s Real Name Murderer, Felon, Arrested” as many times as you could. You’ve creeped on his YouTube page several hundred times, pausing at that one good side angle of his face and imagined it in front of yours. This will be just fine.

And just like that, he became my boo.

Yes. That must be the LAMEST nickname in the world to give your boyfriend, but I don’t like calling him baaaaabe, baby, or hunny. I’ve never really called anyone those words except for The Ex and for some reason it just doesn’t fit The Drummer. I started calling him boo as a joke. Honestly, total joke. But it stuck. And hey, I’ve heard of worse nicknames.

He’s been absolutely amazing – our relationship has been absolutely amazing. Of course we’ve had our tiffs. Sometimes I’m close minded, and sometimes he’s just a guy, but we both recognize our faults and try to make the best of them. We are certainly not perfect, but we’re happy.

This relationship is different this time around. I used to worry so much with The Ex. From the very beginning of our relationship to the very end, I was constantly worried. I was never sure about his feelings because I always knew how low I fell on the totem pole. I’ve never expected to be the most important thing in someone else’s life, but dammit I deserve to be one of the important things. When The Drummer and I first got together, I used to ask him if we could see each other on a Friday night since I hadn’t seen him all week and he would just laugh at me. But I’m not used to that. I had to ask my ex to hang out because, to be honest, the answer was “no” a lot of times. Band things, practice, shows, “guys night,” “alone night.” Those were all things that were far more important than seeing me once or twice a week. When we had been together for YEARS, mind you.

But not with my Drummer. If he doesn’t have plans, and I don’t have plans, our plans are together. And it’s nice because I don’t get to see him all the time. During the week, I’m working like a mad dog and working out harder – and he’s doing the same. When I get to his place on Friday, the first thing I do is throw my bag down and hop in his bed. It’s the first time all week that I get to just lay.

I’m flying to Illinios with him on Thanksgiving day to spend the holiday with him and his family. I’ve never met them before since they live so far away and I’m excited to meet the people closest to him. I’m a little nervous because I have to deal with the whole anxiety of Will they like me? thing, but from what he tells me I should be fine.

And that’s pretty much it for Drummer updates. It’s been one great year and I honestly hope I get to spend more with him. So far, it looks like that’s a possibility.

2 comments

  1. Fuck dudes that don’t make time for you or make you a priority. Speaking as a dude, if I’m into a girl, I will want to spend as much time with her as possible.

    But anyway, rock and roll girl! Nothing but positive vibes.

Leave a Reply

