Snow Days & Thank Yous

#100HappyDays Days 14 & 15

untitled

It’s no surprise that Snow Days can make someone so happy.

Nothing got me feeling more like a high school kid than my boss texting me about our office being closed. I spent the day doing various healthy activities: Persian Zumba (Holy Calorie Burn, Batman!), steaming vegetables, pastel drawings with my little nugget niece, etc. It was a great day despite a slight case of cabin fever that I cured with my Taco and some singing bowl meditation. Day 14: I kicked your ass.

I wanted to take today’s happiness post as a chance to do a shout out to all of you. My internet homies.  You lovely, amazingly beautiful honest creatures whom I have had the pleasure of getting to know over the past several months.

Chris, for nominating me for yet another Dragon’s Loyalty Award.

My friends.

Most of all, my followers.

Words cannot describe how I feel when I see these complete strangers have added me to their follow list. It’s a plethora of emotions, let me tell you. I get all excited that someone else gives at least one single shit about what I write. But then as I see all the numbers add up, I get anxious about how I’m going to continue.

How many times can one write about the experience of pain?

Who wants to actually read about the 100 reasons why I’m happy?

I don’t think I’ve been getting drunk enough lately.

The days where I feel this anxiety are the days I fall silent on my little blog. I can’t write when I’m freaking out about what to write. It makes it less fun and less therapeutic.

The same happens when I’m singing. I can be in the total groove of things and record tons of songs, but once I start to lose my mojo and I screw up for no reason, I get frustrated and just stop altogether. It’s even worse with singing. I’ve sung the same songs for years now and I’m still unsatisfied. That’s life I suppose.

But for today, scratch all that.

I just want to acknowledge all the wonderful people who come and visit my crazy, word babbling, all-over-the-place blog. Thank you for sticking with me through my ADD writing and through the happy times, as well as the pain.

Especially the pain.

I think with every single feeling and emotion, pain is the one that brings humans together the most. I know I do it with other blogs. When you read a post where that person is sharing their tears with you. Their fears with you. Their inner most demons. You get that empathy flowing and you just want to run all the way to the other side of the planet and cry with them.

That’s human love right there, folks. That’s what togetherness is all about. 

And as much as flipping through the news makes you feel like it’s gone, it isn’t.

WordPress is one of those places where this phenomenon, this global consciousness takes place. And that’s one of the reasons why I love it so much. It’s one of the reasons why I love all of you so much. You’ve shown me that people are still beautiful.

I hope I’ve lived up to my blog for you. I hope it’s a place where you can come to laugh, maybe cry a little, feel sort of uncomfortable, and get inspired all at the same time.

Life is a beautiful web that holds together all of the bits of your existence to make one entire masterpiece. You’re never done spinning. You’re never done dreaming. And you’re never done painting. Be life’s artist with me and create something so magnificent, that you will always remember how time is of the essence.

Wish that I could stay forever this young

Not afraid to close my eyes.

Life’s a game made for everyone,

and love is the prize.

One comment

Leave a Reply

