#100HappyDays 8: Shine On

#100HappyDays 8: Shine On

The Sun.

The sun is out today! What a great thing to be happy about.

The morning started out a little rough. I left my coffee mug at work yesterday so I had to scramble to find another one. Then I lost my keys and ran around the house like a mad woman looking for them. Perk #46781 of why I love living at home: My mom found my keys. THANKS MA!

As I was eating my breakfast, anxious thoughts ran through my head about work. I love my job. Don’t get me wrong. And everyone at work loves me. They go on and on about how I’m the best thing to ever happen to the office. But sometimes, they forget that I’m only one person, and also, what my job responsibilities are. There’s only one other person in the office with my job title besides me, and I’m the easiest to come to of the two. So people tend to come to me with all of their concerns and all of the work that needs to be done even though there are two of us available to do it. I know it’s because everyone knows I will get it done ASAP and do it correctly the first time, so I try not to let it get to me too much, but some days when I have a million other things to do, it would be nice if my other co-worker got her share of the problems. I’ve mentioned it before to upper management and it was fixed for a period of time, but now that things are busy again, it’s LARA TO THE RESCUE!

If you’re anything like me, you have your morning planned out by the half minute. If anything disrupts my normal course of morning routine, I’m late. All of my anxiety at breakfast didn’t help me find my keys or look for another coffee mug. It was a little nerve wracking, but when I looked in the mirror to put my scarf on, I stared at my prehnite stone, sitting on my neck and remembered what my mission in life is all about. What this challenge is about.

One Hundred Days of Happiness

Deep breaths, Lara

Of course it can be difficult. It’s a CHALLENGE. Ding Ding Ding! But dammit, I will conquer these 100 days, and I bet I’ll be happy for 100 more.

After having time to calm down about work, I realized I need to relax and take it all in. If I really feel like I’m being overworked, I need to tell someone about it. But that is only in dire situations. I need to grab hold of all the experience I can get because I have been blessed with a job that lets me take care of so many different tasks, that my experience will build and grow over time. Since having my second coffee and cigarette of the day, I feel a lot better about the workload as well. It makes me feel great to know that people love coming to me for help because it makes me feel wanted. And I am appreciated. They don’t forget to give me praise. Ever.

I guess I’m a little stressed today because I’ve been having weird dreams about my ex. Like something is wrong with him, or at least not right. Nothing to do with our relationship-that ship has sailed and I’ve embarked on a new quest with my Drummer. If it was relationship dreams, I wouldn’t care so much, but they are different. I’ve had two or three, two for certain. In one dream he had bruises on his face, as if he was severely beat up. He’s not the fighting type, so I took this as more mental than physical. And then in my dream last night, his best friend was telling me that something was wrong. He wasn’t himself. And he was just not doing well. And I woke up pissed off, naturally. Get out of my sleep cycle, dude. I wanted to reach out to ask if everything was okay, but I didn’t. It isn’t my problem anymore. He has a great family that can help him with any mental struggles he is dealing with. I couldn’t help him when I was with him, so I certainly can’t help him now.

But alas, all of the morning troubles left me as soon as I walked outside and saw the sun shining. With all of this crazy weather, it’s been nice to wear my shades and drive to work blaring my upbeat tunes.

Tomorrow’s Friday. My favorite day of the week. I won’t have an issue with tomorrow’s post!

Love others, but most importantly, love yourself.

Leave a Reply

