I’d Like to Thank the Academy

It’s been brought to my attention that one of my blogging besties, Liam , has nominated me for this fabulous blogging award: The Dragon’s Loyalty Award.

 

First off, I’d like to thank the fans-it’s really all about you guys. I’d like to thank my management team, Interscope, Martin Lawrence, Boniqua my stylist, my hair and makeup team—

“Yo Lara, Lara. Imma let you finish, but Beyoncé had one of the greatest blogs of all time.”

Kanye-get the hell out of here. You don’t give a damn about WordPress. Yeezus. I mean, Jesus.

I’m totally kidding. I’m not famous. For reals. I know, HUGE shocker.

But in all seriousness, I love this award. I think it’s completely appropriate because the meaning of this platform has changed for me throughout the months that I’ve been writing. I never expected to have such a loyal community over the internet. Times of changed since the good old days of talking in AOL chat rooms.

A/S/L?

15/M/FL

Translation: 85/male/touchingmyselftoyouremoticons

There’s a sense of closeness among the people of WordPress. I’m sure other blogs that I’ve never even read have the same sort of friendships. It’s a new age. It’s different. And my friendships with you guys doesn’t make it any less real.

Since, I’ve already received the Versatile Blogger Award nomination, you can click the link and find my favorite blogs and fun facts about me there.

My favorites don’t stop there though. Every blogger I’ve come in contact is an amazing writer. An amazing human. No matter how broken or not broken they may be. I really wanted to take this opportunity to give some shout outs to a few blogs that I’m not as close with as my usual pals, but still am loyal to nonetheless. These people may not even know I’m a fan, but hey! I’m here! I’m reading your shit!

Sundance Speaks

Though she may remain anonymous, reading her blogs gives you more insight into her soul than anyone in her actual presence could know. Her writing is amazing-her thoughts are so pure and just. Seeing as how I’m on my own spiritual journey, hers gives me an insight into a more self actualized person than myself-and it gives me hope that anyone can achieve wholeness with themselves and their Universe.

The Sugar Stories

This may not seem like my usual go-to blog, but shoot-it really is. I’m hooked on sugar stories. I think the author of this blog brings sugaring into a new light that many don’t immediately notice when they first hear those words. When you put all judgment aside, this woman is learning strength, professionalism, and business strategies through unlikely sources and she’s made a great friend/partner to many lonely and unfulfilled individuals. You go girl.

***

I guess you can call me the versatile follower, since I faithfully read up on so many different themed blogs. But you know what? I’m versatile. In one form or another, that’s what I’ve been called my whole life. I’m not super interesting, so there’s no reason to lay out a ton of things you guys would wanna know about me. But here are some great adjectives and facts to paint some sort of picture of my personality:

I’m awkward.

I’m sarcastic.

I make funny faces.

I’m super loud. Like really, really loud.

I don’t wear high heels. And I don’t really care to. I hate them. My friends beg me to wear them. They hurt my feet. And while all my other girlfriends are limping on the way back to the car from the club, I’m FUCKING SKIPPING.

I drink coffee by the GALLON.

I drink whiskey by the liter.

I have one of the biggest hearts in the entire world.

And the number one thing I have to be thankful for in this life is my common sense. I don’t know where I’d be without the brain that God gave me. I wrote my post about Unlikely Gratitude and it’s so freaking true. Without all that shitty shit that happened to me in my life, I wouldn’t be this strong hearted, hard headed woman that I am. That’s not conceit, my friends. That’s down right confidence.

Thanks again, Liam, for recognizing me as a loyal follower. Blogging has become a part of my life in all honesty. I read your blogs to see how you are and what you guys are up to. I write because it gives me clarity, but most importantly, I write for you. I FREAK about what I’m going to post on any given day. I don’t edit it. I don’t reread them and change shit. I just spew word vomit all over this computer screen.

Because that’s me.

All over the place.

And I hope you love every bit of my weirdness, just like I love every bit of your existence.

xx

17 comments

  1. Ahhh, Lara. I love that you don’t wear heels. I don’t either – and I’m only 5ft 1. Lovely post. It brightened up my Friday. Congrats on your new award! x

  2. I so get what you mean by the closeness, and the friendships that can be made on here. I have found some of the best friends I will never meet on here. And despite the fact that we may never come into contact, I know so much through their writing. Well deserved nom.

  3. We could be twins the way you describe yourself, although my sarcasm isn’t very strong yet. I take things way too literally.

    Also, heels. Heels are evil, but I wear them on occasion because I’m so short. I always regret the decision.

  4. I for one TOTALLY love your weirdness — and I can’t believe we both use Boniqua as our stylists! She’s amazing 😀 All joking aside – reading your blog is like a breath of fresh air. Love it – love you – Cheers 🙂

    1. hahah!

      Gurrrrl Boniqua dresses me on the reg. Love that girl.

      And I love you too, Mike! I’m telling you-I come up to Canada every now and again and when I do, I’m coming for you!

  5. Whiskey by the litre? Wow, you’re the woman… you should be best friends with my Aunt Virginia. She downs a litre of whiskey with a vodka chaser followed by battery acid stew. Actually, I don’t think you’d much like my Aunt Virginia.

Leave a Reply

