Throwing Myself Into the Shadows

Happy Thursday Ya’ll!

The end of the week is approaching, but I’m so excited I just gotta do my happy dance eaaarly!

tumblr_m733kmE8EJ1rb1960o1_250
 

I’ve got so much going on this weekend, but it’s my favorite holiday (eehem HALLOWEEN), so I’m pretty pumped. My friends and I bought tickets to this Halloween event in Boston on Saturday. $25 entry and you get free food AND open bar. Plus, my friend’s friend is going on vacation this weekend, so she’s letting us stay at her place in Boston that night so none of us have to drive. Woop Woop!

Tomorrow’s my sister’s birthday celebration and we’re going to a hookah/karaoke bar for drinks and a costume contest. I usually don’t put much thought into my costumes, but I had a Halloween epiphany a few months ago so I’m ready. One of my best friends from college stayed the weekend and we took her out for a night on the town. It was three ladies in the city and we took it by storm that night. I woke up the next morning and the first words I said were, “I literally feel like a pharaoh today.”

BAM. Halloween costume done. Well, I’m not really going as a pharaoh, per say, because I really didn’t like their fashion gear (no offense, Meryt-Neith-you had it goin’ on!) So I’ve decided on Egyptian Princess. I’m not sure which one yet. I have a few lined up, but I get really into character for Halloween, so I want to do my research first. I just love the concept. I mean, I’m 50% Middle Eastern, so I already look 50% the part. My mother gave me a necklace she got from Egypt when she used to belly dance there, so I have something original to add. Throw in some overly priced head dresses and wrist bands, and I’m totally from Egypt. Instead of buying the expensive, yet cheaply made costume, I found my dress at TJ Maxx for $30. The dresses at the Halloween stores were SO crappy looking and I’d be spending $60 for a dress I’ll never wear again. I fell in love with this gown from TJ’s and it’ll definitely be worn for non-Halloween events as well.

photo 

I practiced my make-up the other night. You can see the trial in my thumbnail, which brings me to my next discussion:

I’ve gone anonymous.

Well, kind of. I mean if people really wanted to, they could search through my very first posts and find a few photos of me, but I had to change my picture and all that jazz because I’ve been noticing several people are stumbling upon my blog through Google and Yahoo! search engines (which sort of freaks me out that I’m on the first page of these searches). I work for a Franchise 500 company and as much as I’m pretty honest with my work, if my managers ever read my whole blog, they might choke from their own gasps.

tumblr_mjws2w6mEO1qj80alo3_250
 

Panty thieves?!?

Mind blowing sex?!

Yeah. There are some things I’d rather just leave for the imagination with my management team.

 

In other news:

tumblr_mv02fzdRLj1r0ptf1o1_250
 

Yes. You heard it hear first. I caved. Again. It’s been almost two months since I began my date-cation and I’ve had lots of clarity. I’ve also been all sorts of lonely. LM still texts me from time to time to see how I am, but I don’t understand his reasoning. I’m just cordial because I hate ignoring people when they text me, but I haven’t made any advances to see him again.

I started back up on OKC because I luckily only know maybe 2 guys on there. I hated the other sites because I legit knew more than half of the potential guys and it wasn’t giving me any choices for fresh faces. The only guy I know on OKC is one I went to kindergarten all the way through high school with (and we never talked). Yes, he messaged me. And no, I didn’t message him back. I wanted to be like, “Really, Chris? You’ve known me since we were 5 and have never spoken a word to me. Get to steppin’.”

I’m only talking to one guy as of now. Hm. Pseudo name, pseudo name, what shall you be? Actually, come to think of it, (that always reminds me of a stand up comic who used to say “imagine if you actually had to come to think of it?”), I don’t remember his real name. Well, I’ll give him the name Mr. Drums just to be quick about it. He’s 27, has his Masters in Economics (smarty, farty pants) and has played drums since he was ten. BUT HE’S NOT IN A BAND! YAY! I specifically asked him if he was because I really need to lose my musician taste in men. He’s super intelligent and our conversations are both intellectual and witty-which is  a HUGE requirement for me. But, we all know how this goes. I’m not getting too excited because I’ve just had the worst luck with online dating. I’m taking it as it is, but being VERY picky as to who I go on a date with. If I even have so much as an inkling that it’s going to suck, I’m not going. I’ve been striking out so bad, if I keep this up, I’m going to pull a Michelle Tanner on every single future date.

tumblr_m2ycn2f12s1ro9iza

I’m hoping to try and get together with this cat next week sometime. Between school and work, I don’t know where I can fit dating in, but I know two things: It’s getting cold outside and I’m super lonely. Here we go again, guys.

4 comments

  1. Congrats on diving back into the dating scene – really sounds like – it’s time. Good on ya.

    But as soon as you mentioned the first guy was a drummer I couldn’t help but remember a few good drummer jokes:

    How do you get a drummer off of your porch?
    Pay him 10 bucks for the pizza.

    What do you call a drummer that breaks up with his girlfriend?
    Homeless.

    What does a drummer use for contraception?
    His personality.

    Please don’t kill me. Seriously, try them out on the guy, I’m sure he’ll love ’em 🙂

    1. Aw, thank you! I had to do it. My friends and I dubbed November as our dating month because dating makes life..just interesting haha!

      And OMG. Those jokes. I can’t even deal-HILARIOUS!

      I’m definitely one of those ball buster girls so I’ll have to use them, for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

