Falling into Winter

Falling into Winter

As each red and orange autumn leaf fell from the trees,
I began to let go of this year.
I said goodbye to many people
I left behind old experiences
And just as the snow blankets those dried up leaves
So will be the illusions and memories of my past.
Dead, yet preserved.
Covered, but not forgotten.
For every time I kick a patch of snow
I’ll see that hue of brown
And remember how alive they once were.
I won’t mourn their demise.
I’ll just close my eyes and breathe deeply
Because I know the only constants in life
Are the continuity of time
And the inevitability of change.
In a few chilling, short months
The trees will bud with new life,
My soul will bloom,
And I will embrace the sun again
Because remembering that
Spring is only a few seasons away
Is enough to leave a twinkle in my eye all winter.

6 comments

  1. Love the honesty and emotion – a really nice piece. — And no truer words have ever been spoken: “Because I know the only constants in life, Are the continuity of time, And the inevitability of change.” – embracing change is hard, but so very necessary for happiness.

Leave a Reply

