Funky Friday

I jammed to this song on the way to work this morning. “Instant Need” by FKJ. Listen, if you haven’t already.

Oh, Friday. How I thought you’d never come. When I awoke to Monday, I wanted to strangle it and cut off it’s air supply until it slowly passed away. Then when Monday’s annoying and slightly demented cousin Tuesday came, I realized this week was going to DRAG. Slid right over the hump of Wednesday into Thursday’s arms and Thursday threw me into Friday. Hello. Embrace me. I’ve missed you.

I don’t know what got into me this morning. All week, I pressed the snooze button so many times that I’ve looked like a disheveled prostitute with each day that passed. My co-workers must have loved my look. It’s ‘chic’ I tell them. They’re all older anyways, so they must just assume it’s the style. That’s what I keep telling myself.

But this morning, I jumped out of bed and felt like a straight up super hero driving to work.

tumblr_mnslbx75RW1spz4apo1_500-thumb-500x205-71321

Was it the extra hour of sleep I got? Was it the fact that the Farewell Fin episode of Glee was on last night and I cried myself to sleep? Cried isn’t even the word. Wept, really. Is it because I know once the clock at work hits 5:00 PM, I’m going straight home to get beautified for the night whilst having a glass of whiskey? Maybe it’s just because it’s Friday and I don’t have to wake up at a specific time tomorrow. Oh the little joys in life.

Whatever it is, I feel great today. I’m excited for tonight. I’m seeing a bunch of old friends for a birthday. That’s when we tend to all get together. We’re staying local tonight, which has it’s pros and cons.

Pros (well there’s only two): The local bar we go to is DIRT cheap and has hookahs that we bring outside. Win, win.

Cons: HIGHSCHOOL REUNION 2.0. I had a pretty good high school experience. However, I really can’t stand seeing half of the people I went to school with in the same bar on a Friday night. When I graduated high school, I spent the next 6 years in three different cities, completely forgetting about all of the people I used to know. They weren’t that great, honestly. Many of the people I went to school with were so vain and exterior. They didn’t care about many things other than themselves. Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe they’ve changed. Maybe I just don’t care.

It doesn’t really bother me, though. I usually hold up the normal “Hey, how are you? Oh that’s awesome” conversation. I NEVER and I mean NEVER ask them what they’re doing with their lives. I think that’s the most overdone “haven’t seen you in years” conversation. I hate when gaggles of old school mates ask me that, so I wouldn’t dare throw my word vomit up on them.

CON #2: Creepy men. Oh, so many creepy men at this joint. I love dancing, but when I’m there, I feel like at any moment I’m going to get kidnapped and thrown into a human trafficking organization where I’d have to dance for the rest of my life and then I’d pray that I can close my eyes and go into that “Suckerpunch” movie mode where I can be unconsciously bad ass. Woof, I’m done.

Either way, the pros outweigh the cons and I’m going to have a good time tonight. My thirst for whiskey is the equivalent to a camel in the desert who’s gone totally dry. I save my drinks for the weekend. I’m no fool. They taste better that way, anyways.

Have a great weekend! Stay safe, happy, and [if it’s your thing] buzzed.

6 comments

  1. I love the gif. I feel like I could just sit here and keep watching it.
    Also, I’d rather die than go to my highschool reunion. Those people aren’t even allowed on my facebook.

    1. haha! I know, right? I can always seem to find a gif to describe how I’m feeling.

      And yes. I’m SO over the people in my town. Unfortunately, I know I’ll have to see them but I’m really good at keeping small talk just that…small. haa

  2. Yeah – it’s funny how Friday turns us all into shiny, happy people — but I’m with you – there’s a very good reason I left my hometown and never, ever connected again with the people I went to high school with. I didn’t like them. Making small talk with them now would be like a visit to the dentist. Or worse… the proctologist…

      1. Dammit! I was soooooo hoping you’d stumbled onto The Cure… not the band, but… well, you know what I mean. I hope πŸ™‚ Anyhow – so the search continues — I’ve heard flat ginger ale can at least help to settle the stomach…

      2. Haha! Wouldn’t you know that’s what I was drinking this morning? I didn’t really have a hangover though. I think whiskey has finally started to pump through my veins naturally. I woke up this morning and worked out. Sure, I was a little weathered, but nothing says “Happy I Drank All Weekend Sunday” like some strength training πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

