Like Sands in the Hour Glass.

Like Sands in the Hour Glass.

“One day your life will flash before your eyes. Make sure it’s worth watching.”

I remember the trials and tribulations of high school. Being a hormonal, bad decision making adolescent, who wanted nothing more than to desperately grow up as quick as I could because I thought adult life would be better. I thought people would be nicer. I thought I’d have it all. If only I could talk to the 14 year old me.

Each day went by slower than the day before. The weekdays were filled with skipped classes, drawn out classes that I actually attended, sports, “mean” teachers who “hated” me, and even meaner students. Each weekend consisted of working at the crack of dawn at the supermarket, and then drinking like a 40 year old in the evenings. Smoking pot. Doing drugs. Living life in a numb “I hate the world and everyone in it” sort of way. If only I could talk to the 14 year old me.

As soon as I got to college, I noticed a change in the way I was experiencing life. The days were flying by. The weeks were flying by. And before I knew it, I had a diploma in my hand. Sure, I had no job to go with it thanks to graduating college at the worst time EVER. But there I was. 22. A little older. A little wiser. And time had flown by so quickly. So quickly, in fact, that I didn’t have time to stop and smell those metaphorical roses. If only I could talk to the 18 year old me.

After realizing how many precious and innocent years I wasted with feelings of worry, sadness, and unhealthy addictions, it occurred to me that I may not be able to talk to my teenage self, but I had a chance to talk to my 25 year old self. My present self. That’s the self I talked to when I started this journey 7 months ago.

So many people complain about how the days drag on and I’m on a completely different spectrum-wishing the days would go slower. My life is literally flying by at a crazy speed and I don’t want to miss a beat. 7 months ago, I may have experienced one of the saddest things in my life, but in that very same moment I realized it was the most important days of my life.

It was the day I decided to wake up. To be happy. To never waste a day on sadness and fear. I spent years that way and I refuse to wake up in twenty years and wonder where the time went. I want to know where the time went. I want to be satisfied with that answer. And I think thus far, I’ve lived up to that. Since that day, I have never wasted another. And I don’t just mean being physically productive. Even if I haven’t accomplished a lot that day, as long as I’ve smiled once, thought twice, told someone I loved them, and told myself the same, that, ladies and gentleman, is doing it.

Life truly is too short. Even if it’s cliché, it doesn’t make it any less true. And what gets me through each day with a smile is wanting to live without regrets, from now until forever. We never know when our last breath will be, so be sure to take it with the comfort of knowing you lived and loved every single day. Please, don’t waste a minute, an hour or even a grain of sand. You won’t get it back.

xx

2 comments

Leave a Reply

