Ugh, I Caved.

Ugh, I Caved.

Alright, alright. I caved. It happened. I lasted what? Two weeks?

Jumped back on the online dating horse. Back to the rodeo, I go.

I couldn’t help it. There’s something about meeting people you would have never otherwise met that gets me all excited. I mean, as much as it’s usually a bust, online dating is an experience. It’s proof that we live in the 21st century. It’s kind of like online shopping. You don’t have to physically go to the store and wander around isles looking for a certain item. You simply type away, and browse. Want it? Click it! But also like online shopping, sometimes you get your delivery and that top you bought doesn’t fit.

Upside? Unlike online shopping, online dating is FREE! Well, sort of. If you don’t succumb to a monthly fee it’s free. And personally, I don’t think any dating site should cost money unless you have the Million Dollar Matchmaker coming to your house personally and matching someone for you that way. And seeing as how that will never happen, I’ll stick to free dot com.
I chose a site I’ve never used before, Okcupid. I read a lot of blogs about it and people seem to be pretty successful at least in finding somewhat “normal” people. What I really like about it is there aren’t TOO many people I know on there…yet. It must be up-and-coming. A lot of people around this area use Match and POF. I couldn’t deal anymore. I’ve seen way too many people I know on there and it’s not out of embarrassment. It’s out of the fact that they MESSAGE ME to try and get a date out of me. Too close for comfort-I’m trying to meet NEW people. Not the riff raff from my awful city that I desperately want to break away from.
I began my profile by filling out all of the blank areas and then answering those random questions they use to calculate their matching percentages. Um, did anyone notice that question about turning your glove inside out? I was too nervous to answer. What if I got it wrong? It doesn’t tell you what the right answer is, so what’s the point? They even had ANALOGIES on there! Way to make me feel like I’m applying for grad school. I’ll save questions like that for standardized testing. Woof. Also, because I’m totally one of those people that watches too much Criminal Minds and I Survived, I tried starting this thing out with no picture. I tried for 2 days. Messaging guys, asking them if I can send them pictures privately. I mean, if someone with no picture wanted to send me one another way, I’d take the shot. Risk, people, risk! Well, that backfired. I got ONE person to let me send them pictures and we’ve been messaging, but I don’t think there’s any chemistry. OH and he’s friends with the lead singer of my ex boyfriend’s band. TOOCLOSEFORCOMFORT. Yuck.
Then last night, I caved and put a picture of me up. DING DING DING. All of a sudden, I was the cool kid on Okcupid. Messages up the wahzoo, ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY NINE PEOPLE CLICKED THEY LIKED ME. In 2 1/2 hours? For one picture? Oh, how vain we are. In 48 hours, I had a whopping 5 people look at my pictureless profile and then within mere hours, I had people sending me those stupid “hi” messages all over again and even one guy confessed that he “loved me.” Don’t worry, those pictures will come later. I need to keep ya’ll coming back!

OH and guess who was one of those people who liked me? The freaking Ex Realtor who stood me up a few weeks ago and never contacted me. Wha? You have my damn phone number and you’d rather passively like my profile on a different dating site? Um, I don’t date flakey men so I’m just going to ignore the fact that he’s smokin’ hot and move on.
So anyways, here I am. Back in the mystery online dating game. I’ve got one solid guy I’m super attracted to. I’m being really picky this time around because I’m not one of those people that can click with someone over the internet. I’m big on physical/metaphysical energy. I need them standing right in front of me and feeling their presence to feel a real attraction. I’ve been trying to feel each guy out and imagine him standing there to get a better idea of how I feel. I know nothing about this dude yet, but we agreed to get to know each other a little bit first.

He likes that I like whiskey. A lot. DUH. I’m gonna make someone a very happy man someday.

8 comments

      1. Such a turn off! Lara, I’m going to be joining you with online dating again…it’s a little experiment that I am going to be doing. Will give more details later.

        I totally get you on the “clicking with someone on the internet” thing. You absolutely need to meet physically!

  1. I stopped using okc a few weeks ago after one too many awkward dates lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

    1. See, I’ve used Scout, but the app itself is awful! it stalled on me a bunch. And there were TONS of creepers on there. Surprisingly, I think the guys on Okcupid are more attractive than match and plenty of fish weirdly enough. Cliqie.com huh? I’m gonna have to look this up! Thanks for the info 🙂

  2. I think okc’s one of the better sites out there. Also, LOL at “clicking with someone over the internet”. Messaging someone is just words on a screen. Of course you gotta meet in person.

  3. I have 3 ‘relationships’ that began online and it took months for us to meet on all three due to distance – each one translated into a RL connect so .. I’m a fan of writing/calling/skyping – I think you can definitely connect that way. Good luck with your search .. I have to admit, I didn’t find any of my three on a dating site – they were chatroom encounters that just happened to click.

Leave a Reply

