Back to the Blog.

Back to the Blog.

Ahh, I’ve missed my little blog. Sorry I’ve been MIA for some solid time, I’ve been busy going to school in my pajamas! You know, like those commercials? I’m not as chic as this lady on the catwalk wearing a probably $2000 pair of pjs with a [beanie?] but it’s still cool nonetheless. Starting school has definitely cut into my writing time, but it’s worth it. I need to make more money. I need to learn stuff. I feel like I’ve been on this post college plateau for the last few years just trying to FIND a job let alone one in my field. I gave up on that a long time ago and decided to do what any other twenty-something broke chick paying her loans back does-go where the money is. I was always that martyr who yelled at people to do what they love to do, rather than how much money you make doing it, but I’ve succumbed to just that because I was broke and still kind of am. At least now with going back to school, I’ve found an area of expertise that can make me some serious dough if I play my cards right AND I can use my psych degree to some extent: Human Resources. I used to cringe when my friends in college told me about their HR majors, but now that I’m in the “real-world” (and I am TOTALLY stressing those quotes) I find HR interesting and, well, SO important. Nobody CARES anymore. Most of us are in this black hole/twilight zone/groundhog day of a life where we wake up miserably every morning and have to drag our bodies to work just so we can either half ass our jobs or work hard but in a sad “I wanna go home” sort of way. Then we get home and before we know it, it’s time to go to sleep and do it all over again. How DEPRESSING is that?! Now, I don’t love my job, nor do I want to be behind this particular desk for the rest of my life, but when I’m at work I execute every single task as if it was a FREAKIN special ops mission. My goal throughout my workday is to make everyone smile at least once and to help as many people as I can. Now, I don’t know why I’m like this, but that’s why I want to go into this field. I want to learn why people behave the way they do (including myself) and I want to try to help other people at work have has much pep in their step as I do. Every day doesn’t have to be the same. You don’t have to be so miserable at work all the time. Every time someone at work thanks me for their help and gives me their most sincere appreciation, it gives me the drive to keep doing just that. I want to help people feel the same way.

I want people to smile at work.

I want people to smile when they leave.

I just want people to be happy.

And if they’re not, I’ll just kill them.

Naw, I’m kidding about that last part.

But anyways, with my workload so intense, I won’t be able to write as much as I want to. I still read all of your blogs every morning, so even if I don’t comment just know I’m still listening! I’m probably overthinking this and will still write just as much, but the word “school” scares me so I might as well be prepared for craziness.

P.S. Now that I’ve been looking at this picture for a while, I want to start wearing a beanie to bed. She’s just too cool.

2 comments

  1. 1. Lara – I MISSED YOU!
    2. I totally feel you on this. I used to be the one saying, money doesn’t really matter to me (it still doesn’t) but I realise that is important. Important in the sense that you need to have it to keep a roof over your head, food in the fridge and to get to work.
    3. I had a moment today where I decided even if right now my job doesn’t stimulate me as much as it used to, I am going to make my time here count and sent my boss an e-mail telling him exactly what I need. To my surprise he called me into his office and said how thankful he is for my e-mail.
    4. Good luck with school. I’m sure you will tackle that with as much gusto as your writing.
    5. Don’t NOT write! I get to my desk waiting to see if you have blogged!

    1. That’s awesome! I’m so glad you took work a step further and that it worked out. Managers/bosses love when you give your output. It shows that you are engaging in what you do and that you strive for more. And I will definitely still write. I usually do most of my writing at work so I’m taking a little time to do school work while I’m here but I’ll always make time for this space. It’s my therapy in a way. And for some reason, I enjoy sharing my thoughts, as ADD as they may seem, to the world.

      I’m not going anywhere!

Leave a Reply

