Back to Reality & Life Updates

Back to Reality & Life Updates

Hey guys! Sorry I’ve been MIA for the last few days. After intense preparation for the wedding and the actual celebration, I’m back to reality-sitting at my desk-waiting for 5 o’clock so I can go home and nap. I’m EXHAUSTED!

PA was so much fun! As you guys saw from my last post, it was a total country style wedding. Big open area, lots of moonshine, and more kegs than people. It was pretty funny because I knew absolutely no one besides the people I came with and we were referred to as the “city girls” the entire time. For someone who doesn’t enjoy attention, it was a little nerve-wracking to have all eyes on me ESPECIALLY since I forgot I had to say a speech and after about 10 beers and some moonshine my name was called-front and center. I did great though. The alcohol helped me stay cool, calm, and collect, and everyone enjoyed my speech. I even had me a southern boy for the evening which made my night that much better. HOWEVER, he has not stopped talking about me since I left yesterday and he’s a little bit too smitten with me so I had to tell my friends down there to let him down gently. I definitely didn’t lead him on. I let him know that it was just a fun night and nothing else and plus-the guy lives 6 hours south on a farm. How do you think that will pan out? Haha, oh well. I showed him how Boston does it and I think I made my city proud. I think I scared some of the older folks with my dancing, but sorry-not sorry. That’s how I get down. I even have TONS of battle wounds from that night. I slammed my thumb on a porter potty door and split my thumb open and bled all over my beautiful dress. CLASSY. That’s how I do. Besides a few bruises on my legs and some scratches, I made it out of PA alive and with plenty to talk about for months to come.

SO- I deleted all of my online dating accounts. Honestly, I’m just exhausted from all of the dating and I start school next week so I just need a break. Match was a total bust-total waste of my money. I exchanged maybe two messages with ONE person and that was IT. The only guys who messaged me were CRAZY and I had to block them because they messaged me EVERY DAY. Like, really? Do I only attract the crazies? Ugh. As for my free sites, I did have more luck on them but I was just really disappointed with the online dating experience altogether. None of the guys were actually how they portrayed themselves on the site-both with looks and personality. Now, I’m not vain-I’m just human. There has to be a physical attraction somewhere. But to post pictures of yourself from YEARS ago-that’s just messed up. How can you not think that I won’t notice? I’m not perfect-far from it actually. But, I actually post pictures from the last few months of myself AND I don’t lie about my height or weight. Once again, so deceiving. Same thing with the personalities. I’ve just realized that texting and even phone conversations just don’t really show what type of person you are. Now, I’m not saying this doesn’t work for anyone-just not for me. I need to see you, feel your energy, and have an actual real life conversation in order for me to consider another moment with you. I did go on a date the night before I left and it went okay-to the point where I’m willing to have a second date with him. He was cool and easy to talk to. Plus, I know pretty much all of his friends because I used to hang out with them YEARS ago. He’s a video editor for a big news station around here which is pretty sweet. Drives nice cars and owns his own condo-which I’m definitely not used to someone that well off, but I’m not judgmental or money hungry so dollar signs mean nothing to me. But the kicker? Dude lied about his height! WhYYYYYYYYYY?!??!?! It’s like, I won’t care that you’re not as tall as other guys. And if a girl does care, then she isn’t for you. I am giving him another chance because I understand that guys are just as human as girls, so their insecurities are just as prevalent. But dude. Lie to me again-and you’ll never see this face again. Alas, I’m sticking to meeting people in the real world from here on out. Online dating-as much as I’ve had lots of stories and many laughs at others’ expense, you are just SO not for me. Until hologram dating comes out, I’m jumping out of the pond until I see something worth fishing for.

5 comments

  1. Sounds like you had a great time and you’ll have plenty of memories to reflect on, sounds like an amazing place / atmosphere!
    I guess with the online dating I feel pretty similar in some ways, I just don’t have to put up with guys that are creeps. Though I keep getting essentially e-stalked by an odd few girls and I keep getting “Hi” or “How are you?” messages, guh. Anyway who lies about their height?! I’m 5″5 and even I find that laughable, you can’t really hide that one without high heels can you hahaha.

    1. Haha! Exactly! I mean, like I said, I don’t care how tall someone is. I just hate when people lie about it. Starting out even a friendship that way just jive with me. I’m only giving him a second chance because he’s been the most respectable and down to earth guy thus far.

      1. Always expecting the best of someone leaves you open to get burned a lot, but it’s such a good trait to have! I do that and I’ll never change. You just have to be wary I guess, if someone is so casual about such a silly little lie. My ex did that, 4 months down the line I found out that her ex boyfriend didn’t know I existed essentially, madness!

    1. Hahah omgosh no never!!! I didn’t want anything more than a night with this one and now I feel bad because he won’t leave it alone. Thank god I didn’t give him my number LOL

Leave a Reply

