Maid of Horror: My Speech

Maid of Horror: My Speech

So, my best friends’ wedding is next week and I am the oh-so-not fabulous Maid of Honor. Along with this responsibility comes the dreaded “speech.” Now, writing the speech isn’t so bad. I’ve had a lot of fun writing it. I’ve had so many emotions and a crap load of tears throughout the process. The problem is actually giving the speech in front of two . hundred . people. One thing about me: I HATE public speaking. I can talk to absolutely anybody. But that’s ONE body. In college, I used to drink from a nip before I gave any type of presentation. Luckily, this is a wedding and I’ll be sure to get my fill of wine in before I get the microphone and have all eyes on me. I wanted to share with you guys my rough draft to see what you thought. I’m not really good at coming up with jokes beforehand, so those things will just come to me while speaking. It’s a super rough draft and I’m not even close to done, but I need to share it on here to calm my nerves about having the “perfect” speech. WAH so here it is:

Hello! For those of you that don’t know me (which is probably a good chunk of you) I’m Lara, one of Heather and Matt’s many friends from Massachusetts. When I met Matt and Heath almost 8 years ago, I would have never thought I’d be here in this moment, but I’m so glad I am. I just want to start out by thanking you guys (Heath & Matt) for many years of amazing friendship. You’ve been my rock when I felt like I was floating away, and you’ve been my wings when I felt I would never fly again. We’ve shared some of the best times of my entire life and my gratitude is infinite.
I’m so overwhelmed with happiness that Heath and Matt finally tied the knot. They’ve been together through some of the most trivial times of their lives and just the fact that they are still so very much in love shows endless possibilities, promise, and a continuation of their devotion to each other as well as everlasting happiness. They made it through adolescence together, and we all know how dramatic being a teenager can be. They went on a bumpy ride through early adulthood-moving to another part of the country at such a young age and journeying from sacrifice to success with many, many roadblocks in the way. And even through the last few years, life hasn’t gotten any easier but their bond hasn’t loosened and the foundation of their relationship has stood strong.
It’s so rare to see teenage love continue to blossom throughout the years. That’s what makes these two so special to me. When I look at Heather and Matt, I see similarities, differences, and everything you could possibly imagine in between. But mostly, I see love. Pure, unimaginable, unconditional love. Relationships in general are hard work. As William Shakespeare says, “The course of true love never did run smooth.” Both of you can be so, so stubborn and set in your ways. When you get into your little tiffs, Heath-you think it’s the absolute end of the world. But what you don’t see behind closed doors and what you don’t know is the dialogue going on in Matt’s head: “How do I make her feel better? How can I make Heath smile again?” And that’s how your little tiffs end. Matt is absolutely in love with you, just as much as you are with him. When he looks at you, his eyes see magic and his heart feels foreverness. I can only wish that someday I have the privilege of experiencing a fraction of what you two have.
I wanted to end this with one of my favorite quotes from Bob Marley:
“He’s not perfect. You aren’t either, and the two of you will never be perfect. But if he can make you laugh at least once, causes you to think twice, and if he admits to being human and making mistakes, hold onto him and give him the most you can. He isn’t going to quote poetry, he’s not thinking about you every moment, but he will give you a part of him that he knows you could break. Don’t hurt him, don’t change him, and don’t expect for more than he can give. Don’t analyze. Smile when he makes you happy, yell when he makes you mad, and miss him when he’s not there. Love hard when there is love to be had. Because perfect guys don’t exist, but there’s always one guy that is perfect for you.”
To my absolute favorite people in the whole world: Congratulations on everything you two have accomplished together. Never forget that love is a friendship caught on fire. Never forget that love does not dominate; it cultivates. And most importantly, don’t ever forget where there is love there is life, and the best thing to hold onto in life is each other. Your love created a new life-which is something that can never be replaced, just like you two. To Matt and Heather!

6 comments

  1. I love this post! So lovely. I love the photographs you use to accompany each post too – really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

